top of page


A Little bit of Latrobe Valley Tennis Association Inc. history ..................

  • The Latrobe Valley Tennis Association was formed in 1948 and conducted its first season in 1948-1949. 

  • The inaugural President was Mr Jock Hutchinson (Yallourn Tennis Club), who remained in this role for four years.  The inaugural Secretary was Mr Viv Gore (Yallourn Tennis Club), who remained in this role for six years.

  • Local identity, Latrobe City Councillor Mr Darrell White was President from 1977-78 to 1990-1991 a total of 14 consecutive years.

  • The late Stan Firmin was Secretary/Treasurer from 1954-1955 to 1985-1986 a total of 32 consecutive years.

  • Mr Jim Hill was President for ten consecutive years from 1959-1960 to 1968-1969.

  • Mr Robert Goldie was Score Secretary for 27 consecutive years from 1964-1965 to 1990-1991.

  • To move with the times the Association became an Incorporated body on the 1st September 1995.

  • At the end of season 1998-1999 association secretary Lesa Bradbury worked in conjunction with local internet company InterNet Australis and owner Steven Domagala to design and develop a website to move the LVTA Inc. into the new millennium. The website was successfully launched for Season 1999-2000 and significantly increased parent and player interaction with the LVTA Inc. whilst taking an enormous amount of labour intensive work off the Secretary, Treasurer and Score Secretary. The website continues to be a very valuable asset to the association and grows in features each year which benefits the public that use it.

  • Mr Ian Wilson served as Score Secretary for 13 consecutive years from 1991-1992 to 2003-2004.

  • Mrs Lesa Bradbury served as Secretary/Treasurer for 19 consecutive years and stepped down from her position at the end of the 2005/2006 season. She still updates the association website with her husband Steven to assist with the smooth running of the association.

  • To celebrate 20 years of the LVTA website for the 2019/2020 season a brand new website was launched to work seamlessly with computers and mobile phones and to interact with the new Weather Alert "Team App" being used for the first time.

  • Loy Yang/Yinnar & District Seniors amalgamated with the Latrobe Valley Tennis Association Inc commencing 2019/2020 season, Senior team tennis returns to the LVTA 21 years since it ceased after the conclusion of the 1998/1999 season - Welcome back Senior tennis!

bottom of page